Four Central Kentucky teachers receive INSPIRE: Lexmark's Teaching Award

LEXINGTON, Ky.

News Facts:

- Lexmark International, Inc. (NYSE: LXK) has honored the first four winners of INSPIRE: Lexmark's Teaching Award for the 2014-2015 school year. The program recognizes outstanding Central Kentucky area elementary, middle and high school science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) teachers.
- Lexmark representatives surprised the following teachers with an INSPIRE award presented in front of peers and students at their schools:
 - Julye Adams, Ph.D., a biomedical sciences teacher at Elkhorn Crossing School in Georgetown, Kentucky
 - Tammy Bradley, a science teacher at Collins Lane Elementary School in Frankfort, Kentucky
 - Amanda Prewitt, a science teacher at Waco Elementary School in Waco, Kentucky
 - Lana Russell, a science teacher at Edythe J. Hayes Middle School in Lexington, Kentucky
- Dr. Julye Adams seeks every opportunity to bring authenticity to the classroom and to prepare high school students for college and STEM career fields. For example, she brings math and science concepts to life through a <u>bone detectives lab</u> where she creates a crime scene using imitation bones, and students conduct scientific investigations. Dr. Adams' students also complete a year-long project that includes grant writing and medical research, and they present their findings to an advisory board of industry professionals.
- Tammy Bradley is focused on building critical thinking skills in her science students. She challenges her students to solve problems through research and experiment, and then explain the thinking behind their answers. During a recent lesson on earthworms, Bradley's students studied the digestive tract and body structure of live earthworms, and predicted, observed and tracked data.
- Amanda Prewitt continually researches exciting new ways to engage students and enhance their love of learning. In 2013 she collaborated with community-based organizations to offer third, fourth and fifth graders a day of learning STEM concepts at the school's first Career and Technology Expo. Prewitt also leads the environmental club at the school, which was selected as the 2013 NEED Kentucky Elementary Rookie of the Year for its energy-saving and conservation efforts.
- Lana Russell integrates technology in her science classroom daily through project-based lessons that require students to experiment, collaborate and solve problems. For example, this year her students designed Rube Goldberg experiments, constructing complicated machines to perform simple tasks. They then discussed the energy transfers needed to make the experiments work.
- Lexmark presented the teachers with a \$1,000 award to be used to promote STEM education in their classrooms.

Supporting Resources:

- Videos of surprise awards
 - Julye Adams
 - Tammy Bradley
 - Amanda Prewitt
 - Lana Russell
- INSPIRE: Lexmark's Teaching Award

About INSPIRE

Lexmark launched INSPIRE: Lexmark's Teaching Award in 2011 to highlight and salute exceptional middle and high school teachers who teach science, technology, engineering and/or math in designated Central Kentucky counties. In 2013 the program was expanded to include elementary school teachers.

In order to be eligible for the INSPIRE award, a teacher must receive an online nomination as well as one reference letter from students, colleagues, parents, school administrators or community leaders. Eligible nominees must teach in one of the following Central Kentucky counties: Anderson, Bourbon, Clark, Fayette, Franklin, Jessamine, Madison, Scott and Woodford. Nominations can be made on the INSPIRE: Lexmark's Teaching Award page on Lexmark.com.

About Lexmark

Lexmark is uniquely focused on connecting unstructured printed and digital information across enterprises with the processes, applications and people that need it most. For more information, please visit www.lexmark.com.

Lexmark and Lexmark with diamond design are trademarks of Lexmark International, Inc., registered in the U.S. and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

For further information: Lisa Doctrow, 859-232-1028, Idoctrow@lexmark.com

https://newsroom.lexmark.com/newsreleases?item=134848